Specs of host machine

I’m new to the Entelect challenge so I apologize if I should know this, but what are the details of the machine our bots will be running on? I understand that each bot will be allowed 2 seconds of processing time + additional time as determined by the initial calibration phase, but I can’t seem to find any information regarding the computing resources we will be working with (RAM, CPU details (GPU? :stuck_out_tongue:)).

Thanks

Hi Munsanje, I will go and find out for you, but as far as I understand the bots will be run on VMs, so don’t expect any GPU power, I will try and find out more regarding the RAM and CPU for you.

Any update on this for the 2018 challenge?

Would be really nice if there was some sort of GPU support, structured AI depends heavily on the amount of computations one can perform to evaluate as far into the future as possible. Also it’s a bit strange that in a AI competition there is no official information on how much resources we have available.

Hi Everyone,

We are using an Standard B4ms virtual machine on Azure for the matches. The VM has the following specs:

• 4 vCPU’s
  • 16GB Ram
  • 32GB SSD

We are still investigating and playing around with it to see if the burst VM would actually provide a fair environment for the competition. So the machine specs are not final and we might end up going for a slightly smaller VM with better guarantees over performance. If that is the case then it will have the same specs as the tournament machine we used for last years tournament.

None of these virtual machines have GPU’s available however so do not count on that for your bot executions.

Regards,
The Challenge Team

1 Like

Is it possible to give us more time per turn, that would counter balance the specs used?

Hi critic,