Will an online practice arena be useful?

This is still WIP and most things don’t work yet, but I’d like some opinions, thoughts and rants if you want.

https://www.codingame.com/contribute/view/426695b1e8bca43fb9114bf0f46ec168a759

There will be some changes, due to CG limitations

• CG allows a total AI time of maximum 30 seconds so time allowed per move is set to the minimum 50ms and max rounds is 300.
  • State inputs will have to be received from STDIN
  • Moves must be made by writing to STDOUT
  • Not responding within the time limit will treated as a lose, do nothing is still an option though.

Scream at me folks

2 Likes

UPDATE: The Input and Output and templates are up.

If you select a language and refresh the code, the default will now include a template to read the gamestate from STDIN and write a default command to STDOUT.

Commands will still not do anything yet.

Please check out the template and let me know if I missed something.

Also I’m no artist if you think you have a better images for the worms please send them to me. Tiles are 32x32 pixels.

TTFN (Ta Ta for now)

2 Likes

Updated.

https://www.codingame.com/contribute/view/426695b1e8bca43fb9114bf0f46ec168a759

Commands are now processed, and it should all work in theory though I haven’t tried to check everything yet so please let me know if you find any bugs.

The default AI currently only does nothing commands, so he should be easy to beat. If you submit your code you will play against others that have submitted their code and you will be able to view replays of matches and stuff like that.

Since the game uploaded as a draft version I’m not to sure if your history will be kept in the arena, please don’t assume that it will be.

TODO:

• get someone to add a problem statement. (any volunteers? It goes in the config folder and I don’t know html)
  • find better worm images. (if you have any it’s all 32x32 tiles)
  • add health bars to worms.